ADC Awards

The ADC Annual Awards is the oldest continuously running industry award show in the world. Now in its incredible 102nd year, these awards celebrate the very best in advertising, digital media, graphic and publication design, packaging and product design, motion, experiential and spatial design, photography, illustration and fashion design all with a focus on artistry and craftsmanship.

2022 ADC Awards - Advertising

Anti Look – the life-saving QR design

Agency SCHOLZ & FRIENDS / Berlin

Client Johanniter


Direct / Wildcard

Annual ID


About the Work

In Germany, an ambulance should arrive within 8 minutes after an emergency call. But this has changed dramatically. Every second emergency response is delayed. With the omnipresence of smartphones, onlookers have become a huge issue. These “civilian paparazzi” take photos of victims and impede life-saving rescue operations with their sensationalism. Although it became a criminal offense in January 2021, action is rarely taken against ruthless onlookers. Our idea: Turning smartphones from problem boosters into problem solvers. We have developed an innovative digital pattern, that functions like a camouflaged QR code, to trick smartphone cameras. When an onlooker tries to capture a rescue operation with his smartphone, a message will pop up on the display - confronting the onlooker with his wrongdoing and educating him about proper behavior at accident scenes.

2022 Awards

Total Points: 3

Merit Honor



Scholz & Friends / Berlin

Production Company

Element E / Hamburg

Chief Creative Officer

Matthias Spaetgens

Executive Creative Director

Oliver Handlos

Motion Designer

Jürgen Krugsperger


André Wagenzik

Agency Producer

Agostino De Martino

Account Manager

Felicitas Diepolder
Heiko Franke
Yvonne Haupt

Agency Producer (Print)

Melanie Carels

Director, DOP

Waldemar Obermann

Head of Marketing/Communication

Claudia Hauptmann

Head of Online Communication

Tanja Boettcher

Managing Creative Director

Robert Krause

Member of the Regional Board

Joerg Koch

National Executive

David Kreuziger

Press spokesperson

Therese Raatz

Related Awards





Follow Us