ADC Awards

The ADC Annual Awards is the oldest continuously running industry award show in the world. Now in its incredible 102nd year, these awards celebrate the very best in advertising, digital media, graphic and publication design, packaging and product design, motion, experiential and spatial design, photography, illustration and fashion design all with a focus on artistry and craftsmanship.

2022 ADC Awards - Motion / Film / Gaming Craft

The Lost Class

Agency Leo Burnett / Chicago + Change the Ref Inc. / Coral Springs + No. 6 / New York + Hungry Man / Los Angeles

Client Change the Ref Inc.


Motion / Film / Short Video - Series

Annual ID


About the Work

Firearms are the leading cause of death for children and teens in America. This year alone, 3,044 members of the high school class of 2021 didn’t graduate because they were killed by a gun. To call attention to this, we held a graduation ceremony for this Lost Class and invited two prominent pro-gun advocates to deliver the commencement addresses.

To do this, we created James Madison Academy, a fake online high school named after the author of the Second Amendment. We then invited David Keene, former NRA President, and John Lott, author of More Guns, Less Crime, to make the school’s commencement speech. We filmed their speeches during what they believed was a dress rehearsal. But really, they were speaking to The Lost Class of 2021 - those students who couldn’t graduate this year because they were killed by a gun. In doing this, the film turned these two gun advocates into unlikely spokesmen for our anti-gun violence campaign, and directed viewers to sign a petition for universal background checks.

2022 Awards

Total Points: 9



Leo Burnett / Chicago

PR / Marketing Agency

MSL Group / Chicago
Tusk Strategies / New York

Client / Brand

Change the Ref Inc. / Coral Springs

Production Company

Hungry Man / Los Angeles

Music / Sound Production Company

Beacon Street / Venice

Post Production Company

No. 6 / New York


Bryan Buckley

Director of Photography

Scott Henriksen

Executive Creative Director

Sam Shepherd 


Sean Hannaway 


Neil DaCosta


Sean Logan

Assistant Editor

Grace Yang
Riley Donigan

Associate Creative Director

Ceara Adamson

Associate Producer

Kaitlin Bucaro 


Gregory Reese 

Account Supervisor, Corporate Reputation

Adam Skaf

Activist / Co-Founder

Manuel Oliver
Patricia Oliver

Associate Creative Resource Director

Phoebe Alvarez 


Andrew  Swinand 

Color Assistant

Corey Martinez
David Oh

Color Studio

Primary Color / Los Angeles

Creative Resource Director

Nancy Parnell 


Danny Wirick

Executive Vice President, Head of Integrated Production

Mike Davidson 

Executive Vice President, Head of Planning

Kaylin Goldstein 

Founder / ECD

Phil Crowe

Global Chief Creative Officer of Leo Burnett Worldwide & Chief Creative Officer of Publicis Creative North America

Liz Taylor

Head of Communications & Managing Director

Jackie  Zupsic


Rommel Molina 


Andrew  Feltenstein 
John Nau  


Neil Dacosta Photography / Portland

Production Manager

Julie Lewandowski 

Resolve Finisher

Maxwell Redinger

Senior Vice President

Baxter Townsend

SVP, Director, Production Operations

Michael Shanahan 

Technical Creative Director

Sun Komen

VFX Company

Parliament / Santa Monica

VP, Account Director

Amy Walloch 

VP, Corporate Reputation

Kappie Kopp

VP, Design Director

Kyle Poff

VP, Strategy Director

Nimisha Jain 

Web Development Company

Unicorns & Unicorns / Los Angeles

Related Awards





Follow Us