ADC Awards

The ADC Annual Awards is the oldest continuously running industry award show in the world. Now in its incredible 102nd year, these awards celebrate the very best in advertising, digital media, graphic and publication design, packaging and product design, motion, experiential and spatial design, photography, illustration and fashion design all with a focus on artistry and craftsmanship.

2023 ADC Awards - Brand / Communication Design

Sprite Rebranding

Agency Turner Duckworth

Client Sprite



Annual ID


About the Work

Sprite’s first globally unified visual identity and packaging system. Having to address so many global market needs, the Sprite brand was inconsistent, buried under several visual equities, and often playing into category norms for refreshment/flavor cues. With the new positioning of “clarity”, we edited and elevated the brand to re-establish its status as global icon. Uncoupling the wordmark from the Spark, aligning it on a horizontal baseline, and recrafting the unique letterforms revealed how powerfully recognizable the brand is with just a few elements. The white wordmark on the green background lent itself to a simple packaging versioning system: background = flavor, and the wordmark switches to black for zero sugar. The recrafted Spark was now a standalone symbol, working as a secondary signoff in layouts, or as a bold shorthand for Sprite in contexts where the brand is already understood. The secondary system mimicked the packaging through simplicity and craft. We dialed up the product’s physical clarity with high contrast lighting, and an emphasis on refraction and distortion. A custom display weight of Aktiv Grotesk brought the expressive details of the wordmark and spark into headlines. The final touch was an emphasis on graphic animations playing with transparency as a more attitudinal approach to refreshment cues.

2023 Awards

Total Points: 45


Design Firm

Turner Duckworth


Justin Tolentino

Executive Creative Director

Chris Garvey


Martin Wonnacott

Account Executive

Julia Kranzler
Kelly Ongpin

Creative Services Manager

Jeff Ensslen
Sara Scanlan

Global Brand Director

Shrenik Dasani

Global Category President

Jasmine Vinculado

Global CMO

Manolo Arroyo

Global Design Operations Manager

Jessica Alexander

Global Senior Design Director

Frederic Kahn

Global VP, Design

Rapha Abreu

Global VP, IMX

Vijay Parasuraman

Vice President

Rapha Abreu

Related Awards





Follow Us