ADC Awards

The ADC Annual Awards is the oldest continuously running industry award show in the world. Now in its incredible 102nd year, these awards celebrate the very best in advertising, digital media, graphic and publication design, packaging and product design, motion, experiential and spatial design, photography, illustration and fashion design all with a focus on artistry and craftsmanship.

2023 ADC Awards - Apparel / Accessory / Footwear Design

Endery "Un-Ugly Sweaters"

Agency Doe Anderson Advertising / Louisville

Client Beam Suntory/Maker's Mark


Craft / Patterns / Textiles

Annual ID


About the Work

The fashion industry is responsible for 92 million tons of textile waste produced
every year. And the new trend of fast fashion is only making things worse by
introducing extremely disposable garments filled with microplastics that are often
only worn once before being tossed.
As the world’s largest B Corp distillery, Maker’s Mark wanted to keep the tradition
of ugly holiday sweaters from adding to the waste of fast fashion. So we partnered
with sustainable fashion brand The Endery to create a series of handknit sweaters
that only used pre-existing, deadstock wool. Each sustainably crafted handknit
sweater contains zero plastic and, unlike fast fashion, can be worn holiday season
after holiday season. To create even more sustainable longevity, 100% of the
profits were donated back to the Peruvian knitting community to ensure the art of
sustainable handcrafted sweatering lives for generations to come.
The vintage-style patchwork knits speak to the Americana craftsmanship
associated with Maker’s Mark and blends seamlessly with The Endery’s playful
sense of color and Latin influence.

2023 Awards

Total Points: 3

Merit Honor



Doe Anderson Advertising / Louisville

Art Director

Zach Fugate


Chelsea Schultz

Chief Creative Officer

Leyla Touma-Dailey

Director of Photography

Chase Stewart


Matt Niehoff

Group Creative Director

E Slody


Christian Watson


Delane Wise


Juan Javier Cuadros Guerra

Fashion Photographer

Paolo Rally

Image Editor

Tim Kennedy

Original Music

Joe Stockton

Print producer

Bethany Billick

Related Awards





Follow Us