TDC Awards

The TDC competition, established in 1953, is the longest running, most prestigious, global typography and type design competition. Now in its 70th year, these awards are all about how letterforms are used and drawn, recognizing typographic excellence and celebrating new typeface designs in all global languages.

2023 TDC Awards - Typography

Arizona Type Specimen

Agency Hanzer Liccini / Berlin + DInamo Typefaces

Client Dinamo Editions


Publication / Editorial / Book - Single

Annual ID



The Arizona Type Specimen is a five color, split-page, spiral-bound showcase of ABC Arizona. Designed by Elias Hanzer, ABC Arizona is the first ever sans-to-serif Variable Font that packages its five looks — Serif, Text, Mix, Flare, and Sans — into one single file. This specimen, a translation of Variable Font technology to the world of printed matter, celebrates Arizona’s countless combinations through its split structure. You can mix and match the half pages to discover the typeface family’s vast system.

2023 Awards

Total Points: 20

TDC Winner



Hanzer Liccini / Berlin

Type Foundry

DInamo Typefaces


Madeleine Morley


Celestin Krier


Druckhaus Sportflieger / Berlin


Share To

Related Awards





Follow Us