The One Show

The One Show is the world's most prestigious award show in advertising and design. For over 50 years, the Gold Pencil has been regarded as one of the top prizes in the creative industry. The One Show has a rich legacy of honoring some of the most groundbreaking ideas, created by some of the most remarkable minds in creativity.

2022 One Show - Branded Entertainment

The Ad Break Championship – GTI Hijack

Agency DDB Group / Sydney + Volkswagen Group Australia / Sydney + PHD Media Australia / Sydney

Client Volkswagen Group Australia


Games / Gaming

Annual ID


About the Work

Car brands are the second biggest advertisers on TV. So, to launch the new Golf GTI, we did something to make sure people saw ours - we hijacked the entire ad break. We purchased the first ad in prime-time ad breaks and, using a QR code, let people launch an in-browser racing game. Turning the commercial break into a live gaming event. Players raced live against everyone else watching, for the exact length of the ad break. This turned a 30-second ad into a 3 minute brand experience and made sure our ad was the only one people were watching.

2022 Awards

Total Points: 3




DDB Group / Sydney

Client / Brand

Volkswagen Group Australia / Sydney

Media Distribution Company

PHD Media Australia / Sydney

Art Director

Samuel Raftl


Tom Lawrence

Chief Creative Officer

Ben Welsh

Creative Director

Tim Woolford
Tommy Cehak

Executive Creative Director

Matt Chandler
David Jackson

Project Manager

Sebastian Bennett-Leat

Senior Print Producer

John Wood

Senior Producer

Georgina Hardy

Brand Communications Manager

Hayley Phillips

Business Manager

Izzy Crohan
Alasdair Kay

Chief Strategy Officer

Fran Clayton

CRM/CX Copywriter

Jessie Staszkiewicz

Designer Director

Fabien Clemency

Digital & E-commerce Manager

Stephanie Overton

Digital / UX Designer

Anna Domeij

Digital Customer Acquisition & Retention Manager

Tully Challen

Digital Designer

Andy Lee
Vinny Salinos

Group Business Director

Kenneth McLeod

Head of Integrated Content

Renata Barbosa

Junior Producer

Emily Wood

Managing Partner

Mandy Whatson

Marketing Communications Manager

Rowena Kanna

National Managing Director

David Rennie

Planning Director

James Davis

Senior Business Director

Nicole Drabsch

Senior Business Manager

Harrison Schaap

Senior CX/CRM & Data Planner

Nichola Preston

Senior Data Analyst

Dave Birchall

Senior Lead Producer

Tania Jeram

Technical Programme Director

Emma Fyfe

Related Awards





Follow Us