The One Show

The One Show is the world's most prestigious award show in advertising and design. For over 50 years, the Gold Pencil has been regarded as one of the top prizes in the creative industry. The One Show has a rich legacy of honoring some of the most groundbreaking ideas, created by some of the most remarkable minds in creativity.

2022 One Show - Print

The Joy of Later Life Sex

Agency Ogilvy UK / London

Client Relate


Craft / Photography

Annual ID


About the Work

We needed to create a new visual language that celebrated sex in later life. The photography was crucial in making sex for older people something we should all look forward to. The series of photographs literally create a new visual language: they show genuine moments of older people in intimate situations. The classic black and white approach ensures the photographs are sensual without sliding into the usual salaciousness of the category. On Google you’ll barely any representation of older people being naturally intimate. They are either incredibly fake, or pornographic. As for genuinely intimate images of gay or ethnically diverse older couples – forget it. These photographs start to change that. They have been shared and talked about enough to show that sex and intimacy in later life can finally be seen for what it is: beautiful, natural and something to be celebrated.

2022 Awards

Total Points: 3




Ogilvy UK / London

Chief Creative Officer

Andre Laurentino

Creative Director

Andy Forrest
Nicola Wood


Fabio Liguori

Executive Creative Director

Jules Chalkley




Nicole Frost


Amy Tipper-Hale

Art Buying

Jodie Woodhouse-Ward
Lesley Scott

Business Director - PR

Dk Cheung

Business Lead

Katharine Easteal

CEO of Creative Transformation

Stef Calcraft

Client Partner - PR

Rachael Coomber-Nolan

Deputy Executive Creative Director

Luke Ridgway

Freelance Intimacy coach

Ita O’Brien


Ben Rogers

Grade Producer

Roger Lairisa

Media Planning

Adam Crowe
Daniel Wood

Post-Production Producer

Leo Thornborough


Chelsea Stemple
Christine Wright

Project Management

Sophie Rhys Evans


Hannah Crowley
Shadi Sarresh

Related Awards





Follow Us