The One Show

The One Show is the world's most prestigious award show in advertising and design. For over 50 years, the Gold Pencil has been regarded as one of the top prizes in the creative industry. The One Show has a rich legacy of honoring some of the most groundbreaking ideas, created by some of the most remarkable minds in creativity.

2023 One Show - Branded Entertainment

[Life Subtitled]

Agency Ogilvy / Chicago + Sarofsky / Chicago

Client Chicago International Film Festival


Craft / Art Direction

Annual ID


About the Work

Turning everyday life into a cinematic experience through a series of Location-based OOH. Since the beginning of film, subtitles have helped break down barriers and make the foreign more accessible. To celebrate the 58th Chicago International Film Festival and bring the romance, intrigue, and drama of foreign film to life, we gave the city and its inhabitants their very own subtitles. By applying this cinematic device to everyday life, we made the film festival accessible to everyone, bringing people together to connect and communicate, even in the most unlikely places. The trailer, narrated by Rainn Wilson, gives a voice to subtitles for the first time ever.

2023 Awards

Total Points: 3




Ogilvy / Chicago

Post Production Company

Sarofsky / Chicago


Hannah Lacava

Executive Creative Director

Dave Loew
Erin Sarofsky

Executive Producer

Gayle McCormick

Group Creative Director

Hital Pandya

Account Director

Royce Kurtz

Associate Creative Director

Summers Ford

Design Director

Connor Fleming

Cinema/Chicago & the Chicago International Film Festival Artistic Director

Mimi Plauche

Cinema/Chicago & the Chicago International Film Festival Managing Director

Vivian Teng

Cinema/Chicago & the Chicago International Film Festival Marketing Manager

Andrew Van Beek

Content Creative Director

Kyle Obriot

Deputy Chief Creative Officer, Worldwide

Joe Sciarrotta

Executive Committee member of the Cinema/Chicago Governing Board & the President of Mitten, Inc.:

Mark Mitten

Executive Design Director

Gabe Usadel

Senior Editor

Christopher Mines

Sound engineer

Joe Griffin

Related Awards





Follow Us