The One Show

The One Show is the world's most prestigious award show in advertising and design. For over 50 years, the Gold Pencil has been regarded as one of the top prizes in the creative industry. The One Show has a rich legacy of honoring some of the most groundbreaking ideas, created by some of the most remarkable minds in creativity.

2023 One Show - Design

Touch Card

Agency McCann / New York

Client Mastercard


Service Design / Customer Experience (CX)

Annual ID


About the Work

Turning to experts in accessibility – like The Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB) and VISIONS – to glean insight into what the partially sighted and blind need most, Mastercard found that the payment category is somewhere where their needs have been neglected. We heard stories of the deep anxiety that comes with approaching the store check-out. Something as seemingly simple as purchasing your items is being punctuated with fumbling through wallets, looking for the right card, impatient scoffs and toe taps of other patrons in line, and often paying with the wrong card. Low-vision cardholders have had to hack their cards with scissors, hole punchers, rubber bands or trust someone to identify their card for them. This is so much more than extra time at the register. The implications of non-accessible products say, “this world isn’t for you”. As a solve for this growing pain point, Mastercard introduced Touch Card. Touch Card is an accessible system of cards with cut out notches that allows anyone to identify their cards right the first time, without the hassle of riffling through a wallet or the anxiety of checkout with people tapping their toes. Unique notches in different cards– Squared for credit, rounded for debit, and triangular for prepaid– were designed to be learned instantly. While these notches are useful for everyone, Touch Card was created specifically for the blind and partially sighted community in mind.

2023 Awards

Total Points: 9



McCann / New York

Music / Sound Production Company

JSM Music

Chief Creative Officer

Joel Simon

Executive Producer

Jeff Fiorello


Jason Krebs


Andrew Manning
Norm Felker

Sound Producer

Sharon Cha

Related Awards





Follow Us