The One Show

The One Show is the world's most prestigious award show in advertising and design. For over 50 years, the Gold Pencil has been regarded as one of the top prizes in the creative industry. The One Show has a rich legacy of honoring some of the most groundbreaking ideas, created by some of the most remarkable minds in creativity.

2023 One Show - Design

There's Nothing Comic About Dyslexia

Agency INNOCEAN / Berlin + Dyslexia Scotland + Brokstad Studio / New York + Havas Media / London

Client Dyslexia Scotland


Craft / Art Direction

Annual ID


About the Work

Comic Sans is the most polarising font to date, due to its highly asymmetrical nature. While this irregularity makes it popular amongst the dyslexic community, it is also what makes designers despise it so much.   By deconstructing Comic Sans, we were able to determine the characteristics that make it one of the most dyslexia-friendly fonts. Then, we used them to inspire a new typeface that adopts the same irregularity, except this time, in an aesthetically pleasing way.   Inconstant Regular was created to bridge the gap between design and inclusivity, through its irregular shapes, three stylistic sets, and built-in variable accessibility features. Making it a font that can be tailored to fit infinite individual needs and desired typographic aesthetics. 

2023 Awards

Total Points: 9




Design Firm

Brokstad Studio / New York

PR / Marketing Agency

BOT Inc. / Brighton

Client / Brand

Dyslexia Scotland

Music / Sound Production Company

DaHouse Audio / Berlin

Media Distribution Company

Havas Media / London

Executive Creative Director

Ricardo Wolff

Associate Creative Director

Anna Berlin
Marcelo Pignatari

Senior Copywriter

Noha Fahmy

Senior Designer

Julia Sachse

Associate Creative Director Digital

Andrés Andrade

Business Director

Mark Preston


Jonathan Hill

Design & Creative Direction

Daniel Brokstad

European Chief Creative Officer

Gabriel Mattar


Maso Heck

Junior Designer

János Hunor Vári
Nika Belskaia

Photographer Stills

Ragnar Schmuck

public relations

Ellie Botwood

Senior Strategist

Odile Breffa

Related Awards





Follow Us