The One Show

The One Show is the world's most prestigious award show in advertising and design. For over 50 years, the Gold Pencil has been regarded as one of the top prizes in the creative industry. The One Show has a rich legacy of honoring some of the most groundbreaking ideas, created by some of the most remarkable minds in creativity.

2023 One Show - Social Media

Follow Their Leader

Agency NORD DDB / Copenhagen + NORD DDB / Stockholm

Client Non-Violence Project Foundation


Innovation & Transformation / Innovation in Social Media

Annual ID


About the Work

Instagram only removes 18.8% of hate posts from their platform. Hateful content is proven to be the most engaging, which makes it extremely profitable for Instagram to keep it on their platform. Instagram claims their algorithms can't identify and remove hateful content automatically, but their algorithms can remove accounts that buy fake followers. Therefore, The Non-Violence Project Foundation created Follow Their Leader, a crowdfunding platform that buys fake followers for extremist accounts to shadow-ban and ultimately shut them down. The platform was created with the goal of proving that the removal of hate from Instagram is a question of money, not technology. The campaign ran on the very platform it targeted and collected enough money to shadowban all of its targeted accounts by using a loophole in Instagram's algorithms.

2023 Awards

Total Points: 9



NORD DDB / Copenhagen
NORD DDB / Stockholm

Digital Agency

NORD X / Stockholm

Production Company

House Agency / STOCKHOLM

Music / Sound Production Company

Red Pipe / Stockholm

Art Director

Emma Søgaard


Christoffer Vejlø

Chief Creative Officer

Andreas Dahlqvist

Executive Creative Director

Mikkel Jønsson
Simon Higby


Julia Werme

Social Media Manager

Martina Ahlmark

Sound Designer

Oscar Modig


Anouk Tenten

Community Strategist

Amanda Brohman

Creative Producer

Tobias Bergenwall

Director PR

Sophie Ryan


Viktor Skoqvist


Rolf Skjöldebrand

Front-end Developer

Oscar Mattsson

Head of Craft

Albin Wikander

public relations

Aynur Isayeva

Senior PR Advisor

Joel Sköld

Social Media Strategist

Sara Dastory

Tech Lead

Tobias Melén

UX designer

Natalie Björk

Related Awards





Follow Us