Young Guns 7 WINNERS

2009: Beginning this year, Young Guns became an annual competition. Its international growth continued to shine, with nearly half of all entries coming from outside of the United States. For the first time ever, the top scoring Young Guns 7 winners were awarded grants, with project funding being awarded to visual artist Siggi Eggertsson, director duo Fx&Mat and designer Mario Hugo. The Young Guns 7 ceremony and party took place on October 21, 2009.


Sean Pecknold

Sean Pecknold is a director, animator, photographer, visual artist, amature scientist and aspiring experimental musician. His work has screened at numerous film festivals around the world. In 2009 he won the Special Jury Prize at SXSW for his film White Winter Hymnal for Fleet Foxes. He won the coveted Young Gun award from the Art Directors Club given to outstanding creatives under the age of 30 and was voted Best New Director by BOARDS Magazine. He won the 2012 UK Music Video Award for Best Animated Video for Fleet Foxes The Shrine / An Argument.

He's created visuals for bands The Walkmen, Here We Go Magic, Pure Bathing Culture, Fleet Foxes, Grizzly Bear, Beach House, and Elvis Perkins, as well as client work for BBC Knowledge, The New York Times Magazine, Xbox, and National Geographic. His work has been profiled by WIRED Magazine, Pitchfork, MTV, Focus Features, SHOTS, Its Nice That, and Cartoon Brew. He grew up in Seattle and now lives in Los Angeles, CA.




Share To

Follow Us