Young Guns 8 WINNERS

2010: After deciding that having a trophy that was simply a smaller ADC Cube wasn't going to cut it, Young Guns 8 introduced one of the award's greatest traditions — the Cube would be redesigned every single year, so that each class would receive something truly theirs. The Young Guns 8 Cube was designed by artist, entrepreneur and YG5 winner Justin Gignac and artist, furniture designer and YG2 winner Michael Whitney. The Cube was made out of wood, and at the October 7, 2010 ceremony and party, recipients had to saw off their own Cubes.


Joe Marianek


Joe Marianek is a multidisciplinary designer, educator and creative director. Marianek studied graphic design at the Rhode Island School of Design, graduating with honors in 2003. Prior to joining Apple’s global design group in 2012, he worked for nearly a decade in New York, ultimately as an Associate Partner at Pentagram. Marianek’s work has been widely recognized by design organizations and industry publications. He was honored with the Print “New Visual Artist” award in 2007, which is presented to twenty designers and artists under the age of thirty. He has received Gold and Silver Cubes from the Art Directors Club, and in 2010 he was named an ADC Young Gun. He served as vice-president of the Rhode Island Chapter of the AIGA from 2010 to 2012, and has lectured and judged internationally. Since 2007, Marianek has been a faculty member at the School of Visual Arts in New York, teaching typography and senior thesis courses. He is currently based in San Francisco.




Share To

Follow Us