TDC Awards

The TDC competition, established in 1953, is the longest running, most prestigious, global typography and type design competition. Now in its 70th year, these awards are all about how letterforms are used and drawn, recognizing typographic excellence and celebrating new typeface designs in all global languages.

2023 TDC Awards - Type Design


Agency The Northern Block

Client The Northern Block


Multiple Axis Type Family (ie weight + width)

Annual ID



Fagun is a humanist sans-serif with calligraphic roots. The method combines broad nib pen-style strokes with straight-line geometry to form a compelling and coherent typeface suitable for long lines of text. Each character has the right balance of diagonal contrast, which creates a pleasant contradiction between internal and external lines. The result is an original design with incredible clarity and usability across many text-based scenarios.

2023 Awards

Total Points: 20

TDC Winner


Type Foundry

The Northern Block


Donna Wearmouth

Type Designer

Jonathan Hill

Related Awards





Follow Us