2007 One Show Design Awards

One Show Design

Jul 12, 2007

Overwhelming Growth Sparks Separate Design Awards Show and Special Retrospective of the Past Six Years of One Show Design

Music and Design Worlds Merge as Gnarls Barkley, MTV and Pearl Jam Take Home Top Honors Alongside Apple Computer, BBDO & Saatchi & Saatchi

NEW YORK, NY (July 12, 2007)— On July 12th, for the first time ever, The One Club, host of the world's most prestigious advertising awards show, the One Show, honored the year's most innovative design at One Show Design, awards ceremony held at the Chelsea Art Museum in New York City. Design has been a part of the One Show since 2001. The decision to create a separate event came in response to the increasing number of entries received from around the world in recent years, as well as the growing emphasis on good design in the consumer marketplace.

"Package design is often a consumer's first experience of a product," says Mary Warlick, CEO of The One Club. "By giving design its own special night, we are sending an unmistakable message—good design is good for business."

The coveted Gold, Silver and Bronze Pencils were awarded in categories including corporate identity, environmental design, publication design, direct mail and package design, with Apple Computer racking up numerous awards for their hip, ground-breaking corporate image. A special retrospective celebrating the first six years of One Show Design was also presented during the ceremony.

Offering further proof that music is fueling the engine of advertising design, posters designed by Ames Bros in Seattle for rock band Pearl Jam's 2006 World Tour were awarded a coveted Gold Pencil and Santa Monica's Blind agency also took home the Gold for cover art they designed for Gnarls Barkley's hit single "Crazy."

The top Pencil winners at the 2007 One Show Design include:

Apple Computer: 6 Total (1 Gold, 2 Silver, 3 Bronze)
BBDO: 5 Total (2 Gold, 1 Silver, 2 Bronze)
Saatchi & Saatchi: 4 Total (4 Gold)
Kinetic Singapore: 3 Total (3 Silver)
TBWAChiatDay: 3 Total (2 Silver, 1 Bronze)

Entries were judged by a distinguished panel of design professionals nominated from within the design community and approved by the Board of Directors.

Judges for this year's One Show Design awards were:

  • Bob Dinetz, Bob Dinetz Design (San Francisco, U.S.A.)
  • Alan Dye, Apple Computer (San Francisco, U.S.A)
  • Garrick Hamm, Williams Murray Hamm, (UK)
  • Sally Morrow, Sandstrom Design (Portland, U.S.A.)
  • Nathan Reddy, Grid (Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • Paulina Reyes, Kate Spade (New York, U.S.A.)
  • Missy Wilson, Move Lab (New York, U.S.A.)
  • Pamela Zucker, Principle (Quebec, Canada)

***A complete list of 2007 One Show Design Gold, Silver and Bronze Pencil winners and finalists entries (including agency and award title) can be found after July 12th at

Winners and finalists will be featured in the commemorative One Show Design Annual, which can be purchased at

***For interviews with Mary Warlick, CEO of The One Club, or Kevin Swanepoel, President of The One Club, or DVD copies of the winning design work, please contact Meredith Turner at 212.255.8455 or
Share To

Follow Us