The One Show

The One Show is the world's most prestigious award show in advertising and design. For over 50 years, the Gold Pencil has been regarded as one of the top prizes in the creative industry. The One Show has a rich legacy of honoring some of the most groundbreaking ideas, created by some of the most remarkable minds in creativity.

2023 One Show - Interactive, Online & Mobile

The Truth Wins


Client Reporters Without Borders (RSF)


Online Community Platform / Use of Existing Platform

Annual ID


About the Work

Millions of people around the world are denied access to independent journalism. Reporters Without Borders (RSF) sought to challenge this with insight: Even where the media gets strictly controlled – the lotteries always make the news. So, Reporters Without Borders (RSF) decided to highjack them. To bypass state censorship RSF turned the lottery numbers into an access code for journalism on Twitter, the world’s number one social media platform for journalists. By embedding the current lottery numbers into Twitter accounts with independent information, people could simply type the numbers in the Twitter search bar and the truth would show up. Even if an account gets blocked the numbers cannot get censored and provide overarching access that stays valid on multiple accounts. Making sure to always stay one step ahead of censorship.

2023 Awards

Total Points: 3




Ddb Group Germany

Digital Agency

Hyperinteractive / Hamburg

Production Company


Music / Sound Production Company

DaHouse Audio / Berlin


Nicole Schneewind

Chief Creative Officer

Tim Wettstein


Wonder Bettin

Creative Technologist

Pavel Larionov


Anna Moll

Executive Creative Director

Christof Deutscher
Patrik Lenhart

Project Manager

Diogo Borges

Senior Creative Director

Bruno Damiao
Thomas Koch

Account Manager

Thui Le Hoang

Audio Production Account

Larissa Miranda

Award Manager

Edward Jasion

Chief Marketing & Operations Officer

Jemima Monies

Creative Director / Project Lead

Sandro Heierli
Tobias Natterer

Digital Creative Lead

Saurabh Kakade

Digital Designer

Hernán Lozano Guerrero


Constanze Schmitt

Global Chief Marketing & Communications Officer

Donna Tobin

Global Head of Marketing

Lindsay Bennett

Global Social Media Manager

Marianna Eboli

Group Chief Creative Officer

Diana Sukopp

Innovation Director

Dieter Pries

Journalist & Web3 Native

Samuel He

Lead Developer

Maxim Pries

Managing director

Susanne Pluemecke
Peter Johannes

Mixing & Mastering Engineer

Rodrigo Deltoro

Motion Design

Daniel Siegl


Callum McLean
Jessica Hartley
Jessica Fuchs

PR Director

Rachel Geraghty


Luciana Paes

Visual Designer

Judith Freiberger

Web3 & NFT Advocate

Amarnath Jayanti

Web3 & Security Advocate

Siddhant Shrivastava

Related Awards





Follow Us